Top Tip Of The Week

Last week, I was guest blogger on ‘The Writers Bureau’ weekly blog. My tip advised writers not to throw away old work. You might be able to tweak an article or story and send it to a different market. Even if you look at a piece of work and think Yes, I can see why that was rejected, you might be able to use the idea for another article or story. To read the full guest blog, click on:

http://www.writersbureau.com/blog/reread-rewrite-resubmit/2014/07/

I practice what I preach and just yesterday I received news that I’ve been awarded the runner-up spot in the latest ‘The Global Short Story Competition’:

http://www.globalshortstories.blogspot.co.uk/2014/07/may-winners-announced.html

This was for a story I originally entered into a ‘Writing Magazine’ competition. It didn’t come anywhere so I forgot about the story. I came across it recently when looking through my files and thought I think I can make this a lot better and from the judge’s remarks, I must have succeeded.

I also recently reworked an old article about writing and sent it to a writing magazine. I’ve just had an e-mail confirming that the article has been accepted. So as I advised last week: Re-read, Re-write and Re-submit.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Top Tip Of The Week

  1. Congratulations! It’s also a good idea to keep old writing around so you can see how you’ve grown as a writer.

  2. lorriebowden says:

    Great advice!! So happy it worked out for you! Have a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

