Top Tip Of The Week

Beware the terrible typo!

For some of us, writing is a full-time occupation and for others, it’s something we aspire to. Whichever you are, you’ll likely be fitting your writing in round the family, house and numerous other commitments. So sometimes your writing can be rushed, but even if you’re in a hurry and need to send something off, check it first. Not only for grammar, punctuation etc but also for the terrible typo. I’ve been victim to this a few times. I think I’ve managed to spot them before I’ve sent them out. Huge apologies if not! Here’s a couple of classics I almost sent to students:

Instead of ‘I love the twist‘, with regard to a story ending, I wrote ‘I love the twit‘. The character in question was a bit of a twit but that’s beside the point.

When signing off, I really did mean to write ‘I look forward to hearing from you shortly‘ and not ‘I look forward to hearing from you shorty ‘.

Likewise, ‘Thank you for sending in your dramatic story‘ somehow became ‘Thank you for sending in your drab story‘.  That poor story suddenly took on a whole different meaning!

Finally, a student’s story left me with a ‘warm glow‘ and not a ‘warty glow‘ as I’d written.

So, you’ve been warned. Don’t fall prey to the same fate!

 

I wish you all a great weekend:

 

 

Image

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Top Tip Of The Week

  1. It’s called Fat Finger Syndrome. People talk about it all the time on facebook. I assume that’s what they mean by FFS, anyway.

  2. Kev says:

    I always get typos! 😦 Love that pic…they lay me flat out too! 😀

Leave a Reply

