My Weekly Writing Challenge

As I promised last week, if you felt inspired to send me a limerick, you’ll find it here, as well as my new challenge for you at the end. Remember, I’ll publish each one on my blog this time next week.

 

This great limerick from Keith Channing gets the ball rolling:

A trendy young mum from Lahore
Was climbing up Gladstonb’ry Tor
When along came a man
In a furniture van
Stop me if you’ve heard it before.

 

Thank you Eddy for the cat limerick which also includes me!:

Esther Newton had too many cats
As a result her house had no rats
Which caused an explosion
In cockroach population
So she had to go and get a few bats.

They say the root of all evil is money
And you catch more flies with honey
Because vinegar is sour
And in about an hour
I’ll learn the art of how to be funny.

 

Finally, a huge well done to Jasdeep Kaur who felt inspired to write not one, two or three limericks but eight!:

With all enthusiasm, I started to write.
Wrote and cancelled, till I saw my plight.
What is the magic trick,
that would make it click?
These rhyming trios and duos made me smile bright.

I never had written a limerick before.
In this competition, how could I score?
I hobbled with words,
and drove away many herds.
When I finally could, I wanted to write more.

I saw the monkeys clinging on the tree.
They were truly on the banana spree.
My stomach ached to have one.
But when I was almost done,
with the banana, I got a spank free.

The words of that stranger echoed time and again.
This youthfulness of mine would always remain.
I looked in the mirror in my Booth,
and saw my paunch revealing truth.
That sore remark was clear and plain.

This time, when I got the bonus.
I was happy to have no onus.
The plans went far and wide
till the parcel arrived –
a diamond necklace sending my hopes into furnace.

That sad morning, I got a post.
My story got rejected, for which I used to boast.
“Why?” I said aloud.
It always made me feel proud.
I gulped my grief with fresh lemonade and butter toast.

“Excuse me…” said Mr. Bose,
“your beautiful hair smell like rose.”
I turned and gave a smile,
stopped there for a while,
and said, “You have a lingering nose.”

Should I stop here or continue?
My ideas are going pink and blue.
But let me send these first
And see if you like the gust.
Poetry is contagious; isn’t it true!

 

Now for this week’s challenge:

Yesterday my market for you was a flash fiction competition for a 100 word story. So that’s my challenge for you. Write a short story with a beginning, middle and end in 100 words. The theme is your choice. I look forward to seeing your stories 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to My Weekly Writing Challenge

  1. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    I am so delighted to see my name on your blog. It has not only made me happy, but inspired me to take a plunge. I am going to send my waiting pieces to the publishers very soon.

    • It’s a pleasure to give you a platform to show your writing. I’m so pleased you’re going to be sending out work to publishers soon.

      If you’d like to, have a go at my latest challenge – a 100 word story. I’d love to see it.

  2. eddy says:

    Red Rain in the Gutter

    I had been waiting for Sam for over an hour in the winter rain. Cold heavy fists punched down on me from above. My bones shivered but my skin was wet with sweat instead of rain. Silently in the shadows I waited for Sam. Today was the day. I was going to do it. In the end, red would mix in with the rain water in the gutter.
    Silently I waited.
    Sam came.
    I got ready.
    “Will you marry me Samantha?” I asked, down on one knee, as red rose petals fell from the floor above and got washed away.

  3. Thank you for mentioning me on your blog, Esther. I have to make up limericks, if only because most of those that I know are, shall we say, not ideal for a mixed audience! I shall think about the 100 word challenge, but can’t yet commit to it.

  4. mihrank says:

    wow. what a tremendous blogs by you. You bring richness through your writings!

  5. OK, you win. Here goes:

    The young London Bobby found her sitting on a bench in Hyde Park. Her paper-thin skin was charring in the relentless rays of the noon sun; the sun that hung above her like a vulture, waiting for her to leave this body and slip into one younger, more vital, more able to support her in the next phase of her mission. “This one will do”, she thought, as her essence left when the old body exhaled and expired, and she rode the current of the younger man’s inhalation. “This one will do nicely.”

  6. Paul Banks says:

    Hi Esther

    I’ve taken up your weekly 100 word story challenge. I’m not sure how you wanted this so I’ve copied and pasted and attached the story to the e-mail. I hope you enjoy 🙂

    Cheers and have a great weekend

    Paul Banks – Student 3320489

    H

    The smell of alcohol overpowered the sombre room. Emma looked at herself in the mirror, but didn’t recognise the person with the greasy hair, red rimmed eyes and tear streaked face staring back. Time seemed to stand still, but the pain intensified, rising from the abyss like a dragon ready to engulf her. Pressure escalated in her arm as the elastic cord tightened and the cold prick of steel entered her, pushing the poison into her veins. Warmth erupted from her heart and extended to every fibre of her, falling into the euphoric void where the dragon finally consumed her.

    Date: Thu, 8 May 2014 14:50:29 +0000 To: pbankx@hotmail.com

    • Hi Paul,

      I’m so pleased you felt inspired and have sent a story! It’s not easy to tell a story in 100 words but you’ve created a strong sense of atmosphere and menace here. Well done.

      All you need to do is post your story in the comments box on my post. Your story will be published on my blog next week and I’ll set you another challenge!

      Enjoy your weekend 🙂

  7. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    I am just back from a terrific weekend get-away, and read these brilliant pieces of work. As I have decided to go for it; here’s one from me. All thanks to you!

    Love is beyond past actions

    He was back. Never tired of going through the huge pile of messages, he saw the next one with the same kindness.

    “Please, give me more!” Sally sighed plagued by her ever increasing stack of unpaid bills. He clicked the “Consider” button for further processing.

    “Be merciful and help me!” Anna cried as she lay immovable in the bed in an ICU. He clicked the “Quick Verdict” button.

    “Oh, how much I long for you!” Sharon’s quivering lips voiced.

    God clicked “Granted”, and a light filled the room where Sharon sat motionless gazing the dark sky of late night.

    • Jasdeep, I’m thrilled you’ve given this challenge a go too! I wondered who the ‘He’ was and as you built the story up towards the end, all was revealed. I love the idea of God sat at a computer with different buttons!

  8. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    Thanks a lot! This is indeed a wonderful way of learning.

  9. Sanjukta Bhattacharjee says:

    Hi Esther,
    Here is my go at 100 word short story.

    Sonny’s sleeping pill…

    It was 2 o clock in the morning. Sonny could hear the sound of loud snoring coming from her mother’s room. But she just could not drift into sleep no matter how hard she tried. She kept twisting and turning on her little creaky bed but to no avail. Millions of worldly thoughts were swarming around in her little head. Then an idea struck her.
    She picked up her school book and started reading. And as she had imagined, within minutes of opening the book, sleep came knocking at her eye lids and she passed out!

Leave a Reply

