Lots of Limericks Again!

Just before I went away, I set a limerick writing challenge and many of you took up the challenge with relish. One of my students read about the challenge and having never written a limerick, felt inspired to give it a go. I promised Sanjukta that I’d publish her limericks, so here they are:

 

Three limericks by Sanjukta Bhattacharjee:

 

A Limerick I sat down to write,
They say it doesn’t take much might.
It can be complex or very simple,
Either a tumour or a pimple!
I just need to get the rules right.

 

There was a guy in the heart of a girl,
Each sight of his would make her twirl.
She thought it was a crush
He would always make her gush
She dreamt of them doing a romantic swirl.

 

Blocked is my head, nothing comes to mind,
Ideas play hide and seek, my brain wants to unwind.
I am growing impatient and restless.
An empty mind equals breathlessness.
Could the solution be a pause and thorough rewind?

 

A huge well done to Sanjukta. If any of you want to give it a go, please send me your limericks. To get the creative juices flowing, here’s some themes to base your limerick around:

  • cats (if you read my blog, you’ll know I’m a bit of a cat lover!)
  • a fruit (could make for an amusing one!)
  • receiving a rejection (we all know how that feels)
  • money (the root of all evil?!)
  • Or any of your own ideas

Here’s a recap of how to write a limerick but don’t worry too much – just give it a go!:

A limerick has five lines, where the first, second and fifth lines rhyme, with seven to ten syllables in each line. The third and fourth lines rhyme with each other and these lines have five to seven syllables in each line. Have fun 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Lots of Limericks Again!

  1. b8hg says:

    Well done Sanjukta. I freak out when I have to try to make something rhyme. As for syllables I wish we had been taught some rules about grammar, but at our comprehensive we weren’t, so I will never be able to write a limerick. I have been doing a writing course with Esther as my tutor, and will finish it, but not in the allotted time! Writing is a discipline, but also fun – so thanks for sharing.

  2. Sanjukta Bhattacharjee says:

    Thanks a ton for publishing my limericks Esther. I was ecstatic to see them and my name on your blog. Gave me a huge high!!! And just the motivation that I needed. Thanks once again.

  3. A trendy young mum from Lahore
    Was climbing up Gladstonb’ry Tor
    When along cam a man
    In a furniture van
    Stop me if you’ve heard it before

  4. eddy says:

    Esther Newton had too many cats
    As a result her house had no rats
    Which caused an explosion
    In cockroach population
    So she had to go and get a few bats

    They say the root of all evil is money
    And you catch more flies with honey
    Because vinegar is sour
    And in about an hour
    I’ll learn the art of how to be funny

    • Simply brilliant! And not only have you written a limerick about cats, you’ve added me in too! Though, not sure I’ll be rushing out to buy some bats just yet 😉 Love the money one too. If you see any limerick competitions, enter them, Eddy; you have a great talent 🙂

      • eddy says:

        Thanks Esther! I don’t know about competitions, I just wrote them in the moment. Just being silly. The joy of writing them and reading your comment is enough reward already!

      • I’m really glad you enjoy them. I’m planning on starting a weekly writing challenge so hopefully you’ll find them stimulating and will give them a go 🙂

  5. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    With all enthusiasm, I started to write.
    Wrote and cancelled, till I saw my plight.
    What is the magic trick,
    that would make it click?
    These rhyming trios and duos made me smile bright.

    I never had written a limerick before.
    In this competition, how could I score?
    I hobbled with words,
    and drove away many herds.
    When I finally could, I wanted to write more.

    I saw the monkeys clinging on the tree.
    They were truly on the banana spree.
    My stomach ached to have one.
    But when I was almost done,
    with the banana, I got a spank free.

    The words of that stranger echoed time and again.
    This youthfulness of mine would always remain.
    I looked in the mirror in my Booth,
    and saw my paunch revealing truth.
    That sore remark was clear and plain.

    This time, when I got the bonus.
    I was happy to have no onus.
    The plans went far and wide
    till the parcel arrived –
    a diamond necklace sending my hopes into furnace.

    That sad morning, I got a post.
    My story got rejected, for which I used to boast.
    “Why?” I said aloud.
    It always made me feel proud.
    I gulped my grief with fresh lemonade and butter toast.

    “Excuse me…” said Mr. Bose,
    “your beautiful hair smell like rose.”
    I turned and gave a smile,
    stopped there for a while,
    and said, “You have a lingering nose.”

    Should I stop here or continue?
    My ideas are going pink and blue.
    But let me send these first
    And see if you like the gust.
    Poetry is contagious; isn’t it true!

    • Wow! What a wonderful lot of limericks. Thank you so much for sending these, Jasdeep. I’ll publish them on my blog later in the week. Simply fantastic 🙂

      I’ll also be setting another challenge…so watch out for it.

  6. Jasdeep Kaur says:

    Thanks a lot for your encouragement. It is my pleasure to learn from the experts like you.

Leave a Reply

