My Writing Week

My writing week got off to a flying start with a cheque in the post but that good start didn’t last long and the cheque was swiftly followed by a rejection. As a writer, it’s all too easy to take rejection personally and to focus on the bad rather than the good. Rejection is all part of being a writer. So, after I’d got over my initial disappointment, I took another look at the rejection letter. The editor had liked my story but she felt it didn’t grip her unlike the other stories I’ve written for her magazine but she was keen for me to send in more stories. After reading the letter that second time, I was able to look at the positive and I’ve written another story, focusing on her point of constructive criticism and hopefully this one will tick all the right boxes.

My addition to the ‘More Markets For Freelancers‘ page this week is ‘Mslexia‘,  which describes itself as ‘the magazine for women who write’. It accepts work for all parts of the magazine from published and unpublished women in the UK and abroad. The magazine is looking for stories, poems, articles, monologues, rants, raves and much, much more.

They have an excellent contributors’ guidelines page: http://www.mslexia.co.uk/info/submit.php

Mslexia‘ pays for contributions. Details can be found by clicking on the above link.

 

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

