My Writing Week

Mmmmm…That’s how my writing week is going. I’m sure you all know exactly what I mean but often when I’ve had a week which feels as if it’s going nowhere, the next week is brilliant. Let’s hope next week is one of those!

The Lady, renowned as ‘England’s longest running weekly for women’ is my market for you this week. Published continuously since 1885, it accepts letters and articles from both women and men. On the letters page, they like to hear your thoughts on previous articles published in the magazine, as well as your views on all sorts of other matters. ‘Letter of the Week’ wins a prize and there’s also a section on the letters page, titled ‘The Lady and I’, which offers the writer a prize for a short piece of no more than 350 words about how ‘The Lady’ helped the reader in some way. Articles are welcomed on all sorts of subjects ranging from history, to people, to places.

Describing itself on the website as the magazine ‘for elegant women with elegant minds’ , ‘The Lady’ is a little different from other women’s weeklies such as ‘That’s Life!’ and ‘Take A Break’. So thorough research of the magazine is recommended before you start writing for it. You can view a back-issue on the website for free. Go to http://www.lady.co.uk and click on ‘Read our Digital Edition’.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Writing Week

  1. acuriousgal says:

    Next week will be better, Esther, I just know it!!!

  2. Christine Steenfeldt says:

    I was lucky enough to have my submission for The Lady and I slot accepted last year. I did it as part of an assignment on the WB course and it was about how I got a job as a nanny in London when I was much much younger, by answering an advert inThe Lady. I was very chuffed! It’s well worth a shot if you have something relevant to write about.

Leave a Reply

