My Writing Week

After a sluggish start to the week, I’ve been kept on my toes with lots of assignments to mark and queries to answer. I’ve also been working on editing my books (slow going but necessary if I ever want to see them published!), some fresh ideas and a quick rewrite of a commissioned article. I’d written about a particular magazine in my article, a very popular magazine, which suddenly folded completely out the blue taking everyone by surprise. It just shows how it can happen at any time and to any publication.

Image

Last week I started a ‘Markets For Freelancers’ page and promised to add to it every week. My market for this week is ‘The Global Short Story Competition’, which has been running for five years. The competition really has an international feel with entries accepted from all corners of the globe.

The ‘Global Short Story Competition’ is a monthly on-going one, which is great because if you miss one deadline, your story is simply entered into the next month’s competition. The theme is open and the upper word limit 2000. The judge likes strong, emotive stories and ones which offer something a little different.

The competition has had the backing of well-known travel writer, Bill Bryson. Previous winners’ entries can be viewed on the website to give you an idea of what the judge is looking for: http://www.inscribemedia.co.uk/global-short-story-competition.html

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Writing Week

  1. Thanks Esther, I’ve been thinking about trying my self out in a competition recently. I still haven’t done so but I guess it’s the only way I can start to measure my work against others.

    • Take a deep breath and do it! You’re certainly worthy of winning a competition. It might happen straight away or it might take a few goes. But when it does, there’s nothing like that first win 🙂

  2. If you have that confidence in me Esther, then I’d better start having some as well. Thank you. 🙂

    • I entered a few and didn’t come anywhere to begin with but I persevered and kept reading prize winning entries and got there in the end. But if you don’t enter then you won’t win! You write very well, Chris, so you’re certainly worthy of entering and doing well 🙂

Leave a Reply

